KU hosts maiden NBHM annual meet

Board's efforts enhance global standing of Indian mathematics: Chairman



Srinagar, August 11 - The Department of Mathematics, University of Kashmir (KU), hosted the 82nd annual board meeting of the National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM).

The event marked the first time the NBHM held its annual meeting at the University of Kashmir, bringing together board members from leading institutions across India, including the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), Indian Statistical Institutes (ISI), Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) and various other universities.

Senior officials of the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India, also participated in the meeting.

Chairman, NBHM, Prof Dipendra Prasad, who chaired the meeting, emphasised the pivotal role of NBHM in advancing mathematical research and education in India.

"The NBHM's initiatives, including providing library grants, research project funding and conference support, are crucial for nurturing the next generation of mathematicians," Prof Prasad said.

He asserted that NBHM's ongoing efforts to award visiting professorships to distinguished Indian-origin mathematicians further "enhance the global standing of Indian mathematics".

In his welcome address, Head, Department of Mathematics, KU, Prof Mukhtar Ahmad Khanday, expressed his gratitude for selecting the varsity as the venue for the annual meeting.

"It is a matter of great honour for our university to host this significant event. The presence of eminent mathematicians and scientists on our campus is a testimony to the growing academic stature of our institution," Prof Khanday said.

The varsity's Department of Mathematics has greatly benefited from NBHM's support, particularly in terms of regular financial assistance that has helped expand its library with new titles in emerging areas of mathematics.

"Our department's growth and the success of our research scholars are, in many ways, bolstered by the consistent support from NBHM. We are also proud to have awarded visiting professorships to two of our superannuated faculty members, enabling them to continue contributing to the field," Prof Khanday reiterated.

Director Finance-DAE, Arjit Sagar; Member Secretary-NBHM, Dr Jaya Mukherjee and prominent academicians including, Prof K N Raghavan (IMSc Chennai), Prof Arup Bose (ISI Kolkata), Prof Riddhi Shah (JNU), and Prof Mahan Mj (TIFR-Mumbai), were present at the meeting.

Several other members attended the meeting virtually.

The meeting is expected to pave the way for future collaborations and NBHM's continued support to KU.

Following the board meeting, Prof Dipendra Prasad delivered an extension lecture that attracted a large audience comprising faculty members from various departments of the university, National Institute of Technology (NIT) Srinagar, research scholars, students and retired faculty members of the Department of Mathematics.